Uganda News

On Muhwezi’s censure motion, 81 MPs have signed.

Maj. Gen. Jim Muhwezi, the Minister of Security, has received 81 signatures on a motion to censure him. The opposition wants the minister to be censured for allegedly abdicating responsibility in the face of security forces torturing Ugandans.

However, with two days till the signature deadline, Leader of the Opposition Mathias Mpuuga reported that only 81 of the requisite 176 MPs have signed.

On February 10, the Opposition in Parliament began signing a resolution aiming to censure Minister Muhwezi, and the 10-day deadline set by the Parliament Rules of Procedure expired on Thursday.

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) has a majority of 336 MPs in the 11th Parliament, out of a total of 529.

Mpuuga told journalists on Tuesday that the signing will continue until the end of the ten-day period on Thursday.

According to the list, 54 MPs from the National Unity Platform (NUP), the largest opposition political party, have signed, leaving out Jimmy Lwanga, the Njeru Municipality MP, Kawempe North MP Muhammad Ssegirinya, and his counterpart Allan Ssewanyana, for Makindye West, who is currently imprisoned in Kitalya.

Out of the 32 members of the Forum for Democratic Change, 16 have already signed.

Kilak North MP Anthony Akol, the former Leader of the Opposition, is one of the famous FDC MPs who has yet to sign the censure motion. Betty Aol Ocan, Cecilia Ogwal of Dokolo Woman MP, Harold Tonny Muhindo of Bukonzo East, Atkins Katushabe of Bukonzo West, Nathan Nandala Mafabi of Budadiri West, and Thaddeus Nicholas Kamara of Kabale Municipality, among others.

Five of the Democratic Party’s nine MPs have signed, leaving four unsigned. Buikwe South MP Lulume Bayiga, Tochi County MP Peter Akot, Nwoya County MP Geoffrey Okello, and Kyotera County MP John Paul Mpalanyi are among those who have failed to sign.

The motion has yet to be signed by the People’s Progressive Party (PPPlone )’s MP, Santa Akot, who represents Aruu North. Only Erute South MP Jonathan Odur has signed the document out of the nine Uganda People’s Congress-UPC Party MPs.

The censure motion was not signed by any MP from the ruling NRM party.

Mpuuga also stated that the opposition’s boycott of plenary sessions has come to an end, and that they will return to the House when it reconvenes.

Mpuuga also mentions that the opposition is continuing its human rights violation constituency register campaign, and that members of the public are encouraged to file complaints with their local MPs’ offices.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button